Ghostly Side-Eye

Posted: August 6, 2014 by linktay in Interesting Myths
Tags: , ,

I’m sure all of us have heard a story of someone seeing something spooky out of the corner of their eye, but when they turned to look it was gone. I myself have experienced this phenomenon more times than I can possibly try to count. And I will say with complete honesty that these have been experiences with fluctuating certainty and validity. There are times when I’ve seen something in my peripheral that I sensed with every atom of my being, other times I’m certain it may have just been my imagination.

But why are “full-frontal” ghost sightings so rare? (Get your mind out of the gutter, you know what I mean!)

Well, it turns out that the key to figuring that out may lie in unearthing a few details on just how our eyes work in low light situations. We have two types of receptor cells in the back of our eyes called rods and cones. Central vision, used for seeing something with great detail, uses the cones; peripheral vision uses the rods. The differences between these cells give us different capabilities within our eyesight as a whole; and for viewing ghosts and spirits. When trying to see in low- light conditions (aka 2am in an old Connecticut cemetery) , it is well known that our central vision is weak (because of it’s dependence upon bright light, how needy ew) while our peripheral vision is much stronger in this situation. The rods in our eyes, used in peripheral vision operate a lot more efficiently during low-light conditions than the cones do; this allows the eye to detect light that is a “billion times dimmer than bright sunlight!”*

Our peripheral vision is also notoriously better at detecting motion. So that could explain why it seems the tiniest bits of movement seem to trigger the “there’s a ghost in my house” reaction.

But what do you think? Can we trust our peripheral vision though it may not be as clear as our central vision? Does its many useful attributes make up for the details it lacks, or can it not be trusted as a whole?

Wait…. What was that…. Was that a ghost?

Special thanks to: http://www.angelsghosts.com/ghosts_peripheral_vision
* direct quotation

Comments
  1. Smart; I’ve never really thought about it this way before.

Leave a Reply

